Costco Eats: Spinach & Artichoke Parmesan Dip

Oh, what the heck. As a hana hou (encore) entry to the last write-up on a Costco item, this time we have Stonemill® Kitchens Spinach & Artichoke Parmesan Dip.

I love cheese as much as I love Costco, and between them, Safeway, Foodland, and the new kid in town Whole Foods in Kahala, I could probably write a new product review every HOUR on just gourmet cheeses alone if time permitted.

Not that this is classified as gourmet cheese, but once you taste it, I think you’ll agree it’s just as satisfying as a good slice of Gouda or Brie, if not more, thanks to the sum of its parts.

Let’s look at the label on the container…


Stonemill® Kitchens Spinach & Artichoke Parmesan Dip, $7.59/30 oz. tub @ Costco Hawaii Kai

How did I discover this product? By the sample lady of course! Isn’t that how we all get hooked-in?

You know how there’s those food samples that are pretty good in a “Yeah, that hit the spot. Great, now I don’t need to buy lunch!” kinda’ way. But not really good enough where you actually buy the product. Then there’s those samples that are like POW!!!! After one or two bites, SOLD!

Well that’s exactly how it was for me after sampling a cracker topped with this stuff. That’s why sometimes I purposely AVOID the food sample stations along the front of the main aisle. Too tempting.

If you’re a Costco regular, you’ve probably at least tried, if not bought the Seafood Dip and Spinach Dip from there. Those are OK, but after halfway through the tub, I quickly get sick of them and end up giving the rest away. I’m sure you could doctor them up to make them more interesting, but I was never inclined to try that.

This Spinach & Artichoke Parmesan Dip needs no doctoring whatsoever. The primary reason being this really is a PARMESAN DIP, where the Spinach & Artichokes have supporting roles, while the Parm’ is the star. Therefore it’s power-packed with flavor right off the showroom floor. It’s just ooey-gooey cheesy delicioso!

The pungent, bold (melted) Parmesan, accented by the buttery-savory artichokes, and rounded out by the earthy-green flavor and texture of the spinach is pure genius spread on a cracker.

According to the label, the key ingredients listed are: Parmesan Cheese, Mayonnaise, Water, Artichoke Hearts, Garlic, Dehydrated Spinach, Salt, and a few chemicals I can’t pronounce and don’t wanna’ know about.

2 tablespoons provide 100 calories, with 80 of that being fat calories. Total fat is 9 grams, with 3 grams of that saturated and 0 grams trans fat. There’s 15 mg cholesterol and 220mg sodium, which is 9% daily value. Thankfully you also get 10% vitamin A, 6% vitamin C, 10% calcium and 2% iron in that same 2 tablespoon serving.

Because of that Parmesan foundation (notice the larger font size on the label), it’s best to serve it heated up. When it’s cold (this is a refrigerated product), straight out of the tub it looks like this…


1 tablespoon SAP Dip cold

See how it’s all congealed. Here you can sort of see the large gratings of real Parmesan.

It only takes seconds in the microwave to melt it down to an ooey-gooey spreadable consistency…


1 tablespoon SAP Dip heated in microwave for 10 seconds.

See the cheese pull…

I might add because it’s Parmesan, this dip is on the salty side, so obviously use a cracker or other vessel that isn’t that salty. I already threw away the box and forget the brand, but these are those multi-grain crackers that come in the variety pack in Costco for like $6 or $7. It’s the cracker they use to serve many of their samples.

Like most other food products nowadays, Stonemill offers an alternative serving idea for this dip with this Quiche recipe provided on a handy-dandy peel-away label in back…

By the way, I was just doing some shopping this past Sunday at the Kapahulu Safeway, where they had this same product in a 10 oz. tub for about $5.50. So for just $2 more you can get three times as much at Costco.

I must admit, the product is very rich, and I can only handle maybe 4-6 crackers worth in one sitting. But for that brief moment in time, this Spinach & Artichoke Parmesan Dip is pure bliss.

What? Stonemill® Kitchens Spinach & Artichoke Parmesan Dip
From where did you buy it and how much did it cost? Costco Hawaii Kai, $7.59/30 oz. tub
Big Shaka to: Ooey-gooey, Parmesan-Cheesy delicious. Tender, savory-buttery artichokes & earthy-green-toned spinach are the perfect marriage with the rich and bold Parm’. Perfect balance of the key ingredients. Ready to serve. Melts quickly. This could probably make a tennis shoe taste good. Peel-away Quiche recipe included on packaging. Comparably-exceptional value at Costco. Sample ladies. Not having to buy lunch after getting full from samples at Costco.
No shaka to: Too rich and salty to eat more than a few tablespoons in one sitting. Eating tennis shoes. Spending more money than I originally intended to thanks to the sample lady. People who vulture and hog-out at the sample stations.
The Tasty Island rating: 5

P.S. In case you’re gonna ask if I work for, or am affiliated with Costco? No I’m not. Just a regular paying member/customer like the rest of us. But if they ever have offers to buy or rent a condo unit in there, show where to sign up!

9 thoughts on “Costco Eats: Spinach & Artichoke Parmesan Dip

  1. OK, OK…you’ve got me convinced I have to go to Costco and renew my membership which expired last month! *L* That dip does look lovely…and I love spinach and artichoke dips even without dippers. 😉

  2. Pomai,
    I love cheese very much since a child. I put spinach artichoke dip on top of pasta. To me not bad and quick. Thinking of of adding certain ingredient to make it bind better and bake in filo wrap for spinach artichoke roll.

  3. This dip is very good. Will try in crescent dough with some flour added to dip filling to firm it and wrap it up and bake. I also make mini croissant with crescent dough with chocolate in it. Dark chocolate croissant.

  4. Costco is fantastic, huh?

    Even the store’s Kirkland brand tend to make good food items.

    Lots of brand names are sold under the Kirkland name.

    One secret: They have a Kirkland brand Premium Vanilla ice cream. It is actually Haagen Dazs vanilla ice cream being sold under the Kirkland name. It is the BEST vanilla ice cream out there (trust me, I am a one-of-a-kind picky eater). I’m thinking that Haagen Dazs doesn’t want to lessen its status by selling huge containers of their product; therefore, they simply do it behind Kirkland’s name. Sneaky buggers.

  5. Ha ha…I haven’t renewed my Costco card in like 2 years…but I still use it to go eat at the deli….Combo pizza and chicken caesar salad! Good lunch!
    Oh, and one Churro for dessert.

  6. I threw this dip on top of a half-seared chicken breast, threw it in the oven at 400 for about ten minutes – and viola! – sooo ono!

    And then, I threw some into a basil egg white scramble. So yum!

  7. Love this Spinach & Artichoke Parmesan Dip. I got the same brand the other day. I ate so much of it… more than 2 Tablespoons… ah man didn’t even want to know the nutritional info!

  8. Pingback: No Review Today : Heat Eat Review : We Review TV Dinners, Frozen Meals, and Microwavable Foods

  9. Love your descriptions and photographs. I wish I had some of that dip right now!!! I’m planning a Costco trip very soon. Do you have Trader Joe’s in Hawaii?

Leave a comment