2010 Waikiki Spam Jam

Being that the iconic SPAM Musubi symbolizes the ratings here on The Tasty Island, we can’t miss the happenings at the Waikiki Spam Jam. This time being their 8th annual event, taking place this past weekend on Saturday, April 24, 2010 from 4pm to 10pm on the blocked-off street of Kalakaua avenue in Waikiki.

Following is a pictorial walkthrough of this year’s Spam Jam festivities, along with descriptions and commentary wherever applicable to further immerse you in the experience. Because an “experience” is really what it is at a Waikiki Spam Jam. Enjoy!

Chibo’s Spam Okonomiyaki…

Chibo’s Spam Yakisoba…

Seafood Village’s Spam Siu Mai (steamed potstickers)…

Seafood Village’s Spam Manapua (steamed bun)…

Seafood Village’s Spam Manapua in another style…

Seafood Village Spam Dim Sum Combo…

Rumfire’s Kalua Pig Enchiladas with Ancho Chile Sauce, Spam Maui Onion Salsa and Queso Fondido, and Fiesta Spam Crab Dip…

Rumfire’s Fiesta Spam Crab Dip…

Rumfire staff crankin’ out Spam Crab Dip for the masses…

Here’s quite the “medley” of foods from the earth: asparagus, red bell peppers, roasted peppers, Hamakua Alii mushrooms, rosemary and pineapple. While I’m not sure what yet, surely a very tasty dish could be created using all of these ingredients!…

Spam Tuesdays at Rumfire!…

Volcano Nachos with Spam Chili

Spam Chili with Rice

Jimmy Buffet’s Spam Fusion Fajitas…

Gordon Biersch’ Guava Mango BBQ Spam Sliders topped with Crispy Onion Rings…

Gordon Biersch’ Sicilian Spam & Basil Pizza Bread…

Gordon Biersch’ Spam Pancit…

Gordon Biersch’ Spam Gau Gee (fried wonton) with sweet, spicy chili dipping sauce…

Gordon Biersch’ awesome Garlic Fries…

Doraku Spam Musubi…

That was literally rated 3 SPAM Musubi, and these are literally rated 5 SPAM Musubi!…

Doraku Spam Jam Roll…

Doraku keeps their grilled Spam happy by smothering them with a Teriyaki glaze…

Duke’s Spam Fried Rice…

Duke’s & Hula Grill’s Spam moco ($6 for white rice, $8 for fried rice) has two slices of Spam topped with a scrambled egg over rice, surrounded by their signature brandy shiitake cream sauce and topped with crispy onion strings…

Duke’s & Hula Grill’s Spam Moco in stages of construction…

I forgot to ask why this one got the katsu treatment…

Duke’s always incredible and very popular “Hula Pie”…

Now you are thinking what I’m thinking, right? Notice there’s macadamia nuts on there. Well, being this is a Spam Jam, they should have swapped the plain roasted Mac Nuts with SPAM Macadamia Nuts! How you figgah?

Coconut Willy’s Fried Noodles with Spam…

Coconut Willy’s Garlic Shrimp with Spiral Fries…

Cheeseburger’s Combo Spam and Cheeseburger Babies…

Cheeseburger Babies…

Shack Waikiki’s Hawaiian Spam Burger made with an all-beef burger slider patty topped with hickory-smoked Spam and a pineapple tomato relish. Accompanying it is a Hawaiian-style potato macaroni salad, mixed with hickory smoked Spam, eggs, green onion, mayonnaise and mustard…

Shack Waikiki’s Spam dog ($3) smothered in Spam chili, pineapple tomato relish, cheese and onions…

The beautiful and lovely Shack ladies…

The Shack owner Brendan workin’ the booth…

What, no Spam flavor? It would go great with pineapple! lol

I would fill my bathtub up with one of these and soak in it…

At the Hawaii Food Bank booth…

Spam Macadamia Nut samples galore…

Hamakua Plantations were handing out coupons that would donate 50% of the proceeds to the Hawaii Food Bank. Fantastic.

The owner and president of Hamakua Macadamia Nut Company, Richard Schnitzler…

It was a great honor and pleasure to hear from Richard that sales of their Spam Macadamia Nuts are doing very well due in part to the thorough review I did of the product on this blog. He even credits an account his company picked up with Target thanks to their corporate folks on the mainland seeing the review I did, which was passed on by the corporate folks at Hormel. Wow! Some “big wigs” checkin’ out this site!

At least I know my blog is doing its part in helping to promote Hawaii’s food and products industry with proof positive results.

This Week: Spam in every flavor…

For some reason, anything with “SPAM” on it doesn’t look right in front of an Apple computer store lol…

I wonder if you wear this shirt into the Apple store, would they kick you out? Or would an “Anti-virus” alarm pop-up on any computer you touch? lol

There were a few non-Spam related crafts vendors there selling their wares as well…

A different vendor (not Simply Wood Studios)…

Folks Spam in up for the camera with “Spammy” (or whatever their mascot’s name is)…

Pork Butt lol…

This poor kid was absolutely HORRIFIED by “Spammy” lol…

The revolving restaurant with the lights in the background is Top of Waikiki.

“Spammy” #1 heads into the Outrigger on the beach…

Here’s a full pallet of SPAM, which includes 100 cases at 12 per case, totaling 1,200 cans…

The closing band on stage at the First Hawaiian Bank stage was Journey Tribute band named ‘Separate Ways’, which they were SMOKIN’!…

These guys sound SPOT-ON like Journey. It was really like a free Journey concert at the Spam Jam! And everyone got totally into it.

The lead singer certainly gives Journey’s current frontman, Arnel Pineda a run for the money. He even looks kinda’ like Steve Perry. And the guitarist played Neal Schon’s signature rhythm and leads to perfection with plenty of “feel”, and not just sounding like a “copy”. If you hear of Separate Ways performing and you’re a Journey fan, I highly recommend you check their concert out.

Earlier on that evening at the Waikiki Beach Walk stage, various hula performances took place…

Closing this year’s coverage of the 2010 Waikiki Spam Jam, I leave you with the lovely “Spam Girls” Alicia and Michelle…

For coverage of previous years’ Waikiki Spam Jams, click on the following banner links…

15 thoughts on “2010 Waikiki Spam Jam

  1. Pomai, awesome photos of the festival. My mother as you might or not know family name Lum. Aunt created many recipes with spams and enter in state contest cook off. I really like her Biryani and fresh lumpia with spam in it and potsticker spam too. Spicy hot spam made Jambalaya.

    I contacted Hank with hamburger and hotdog ideal and Pana Cotta dessert. Cumberland Sausage not easy to find but Safeway got Bangers. I told him of a King Kamehameha hotdog or hamburger. Better him or Zippy might get it .

  2. Pomai, I like to play with Spam recipe I made up at home. Right now working on Spam Pipikaula but need inprovement on it. I made a turkey spam in lemon spam deep fry in batter after coat with chinese lemon chicken sauce.

  3. Pomai, I see Seafood Village steam buns are not the manapua type but like the northern Chinese one call Siu Lung Bao with pork and cabbage using spam instead. Mine I made at home with spam is make it as char siu and then make into manapua and char siu soo (turnover) and chong fun with it too. Spam gone Asian.

  4. Pomai, notice no Summer Rolls at featival. Now for me to make some with turkey spam in it. Now with what Amy said “Spam Gone Asian”. I will make Korean Pancake with green onion and hot and spicy spam.

  5. Pomai, really enjoyed the fest. and now have join the Spam Wagon with my own recipes also. Spam Fu Yung and Spam Tocino. Wow your bloggers had al lot of their own recipes that really great. It all Asian so mine. Now hope no one else copy their or mine for now.

  6. I just wanted to comment on the fact that your review of the SPAM mac nuts had such a great influence! Wow its amazing what the internet can do huh? I wonder if this will lead to a Guy Fieri-esque stamp of approval, instead of ‘Guy ate here’ it will be ‘the tasty island ate here’ could be a big selling point. I know that for me your reviews have really influenced what I will and won’t try the next time I am on Oahu as well as what I ask my mom to pack in care packages! Anyway, glad to see that the blog has such a reach! How many readers are you up to a day?

  7. Pomai, my friends on the mainland told me that Spam is really pushing their products on tv every day and night very hard. At work my friend brought from home spam sandwich and co workers made face thinking who eat this stuff? Still people on mainland look down on Spam. I enjoyed it along my family too. Glad bloggers got so many great recipes of spam.

    My grandparents like it and still called it C ration from war time in the 1940.

  8. Super time at the Spam Feastival. Loved the Okomomiyaki Spam. Now I see your readers have also their own recipes using spams. Glad Hawaii love that product which have a humble history during 1940 tijme. I heard about it from my Grandparents and uncles. They use to work at Pearl Harbor and got this C rations at PX Store there,

    Food were hard to get from mainland at time during the early years C rations were always there to buy. Mainland young people use to called Spam poor people food or mystery meat. My great grand uncle told us if it were not for spam soldiers would not have meats at time for their meals. My family and friends in Hawaii all love SPAM.

  9. Got spam stock up at home for quick and easy recipes. Yeah younger generations on the mainland do not care for spam still regard it poor people food or mystery meat. I too learn from family how humble life were in early Hawaii and spam always there in many homes to have a good meal. Now people are spoil by chic, organic up scale food. Not all but other people who does not history of Spam and early days.

  10. All of the food looks good, but some of those prices seem too high, especially for simple Spam dishes and two scoop rice. I’d be really choosy in picking out what I’d want to eat, especially if I could go down to a store and get a can for $2.50 or less.

    Oh, but oh so good this food kine eats.

  11. John, I agree, some booths had overpriced dishes, yet there were some that were fairly reasonable. At the end of the night many booths offer “blowout specials” at usually around half-price.
    Vicky, here’s the video. Why did he run away? Did “Spam Man” steal artwork from that Waikiki gallery or what? lol
    Michael, Erica and Kimo, funny enough, the mainland tourists at the Spam Jam seem to “eat it all up” with no apprehension or pretention whatsoever.
    Chiemi, no question the internet is the most powerful information tool on the planet.
    I thought it was kinda’ cool to find Yelp sticker on the front door at Koi’s. I’ve thought about making Tasty Island stickers that businesses could put on their front door, but I think they’d only want one up if the “SPAM Musubi rating” here was really high. Like say 3, 4 or 5 SPAM Musubi.
    Aaron, SPAM Fu Yong and SPAM Tocino? As soon as you perfect the recipe, I hope we see your booth at the next Spam Jam! Sounds supah ono!
    Patty, a Pajeon with SPAM definitely sounds like it would work, similar to Aaron’s SPAM Fu Yong. Sheesh, I’m getting hungry now!
    Amy, oh that’s what those type are called, “Siu Lung Bao”. What is the Chinese name for local style “Manapua”. Is it loosely called “Charsiu Bao”? From what I understand, “Manapua” the way it’s made here is/was exclusive to Hawaii and was never made in that style in mainland China or Hong Kong. Is that true?
    At the first annual smoked meat competition in Kaneohe, one competitor made smoked SPAM that was flavored with Charsiu sauce. While I didn’t try it, it looked ono with that glistening velvet red-colored glazed charsiu coating it!
    Kelike, a SPAM Satay with Peanut Sauce sounds interesting, but I’d probably prefer it with the Mae Ploy sweet and spicy Thai Chili Sauce. I imagine you’d flavor the SPAM® with Soy Sauce, Nam Pla and Lemon Grass?
    Amy, SPAM Pipikaula? The day I see “SPAM JERKY” on the store shelf is the day I know the world will end soon. lol
    Now you said you made Turkey SPAM  in lemon that’s deep-fried in a batter then coated with “Chinese lemon chicken sauce” (whatever that is!). Can you provide a recipe for that? I’d love to try it! I heard in and of itself, Turkey SPAM tastes  horrible. But jazzed-up like that, I bet it’s really ono!
    Kelike, are you related to Nate the “HYN Pake in Okinawa” blogger? He’s a Lum. Man, Hawaii sure has plenty of Lums! Then again, we have lots of Chings, Chongs and Changs too! I think I know at least 10 people or more from each of those families. lol
    That Biryani Lumpia Spam dish sounds ono as well. Got a recipe? Please share, and like the others who’ve suggested ideas, I’ll be sure to make them as a feature here on this blog!
    Now what exactly is a “King Kamehameha Hot Dog”? I’m imagining it’s basically a “luau in a bun”: a Kalua Pig Hot Dog covered with Squid Luau and topped with Lomi Salmon, served with Haupia and Kulolo on da’ side. Whoah, Nelly! lol
    Kat, it was!
    🙂

  12. Thanks for all you coverage on the Spam Jam.

    I’m from Canada and I’m planning on attending the 2011 festival.

    Hope to see you there.

    P.S. Will you be wearing your spam design?

Leave a Reply

