Another Great Saturday at KCC Farmers' Market

As you may have read in my previous post on Kona Coast Abalone, yesterday I paid yet another visit to the always impressive KCC Farmers’ Market.

This popular open market event is held every Saturday from 7:30 to 11:00am in the makai (ocean)-side parking lot at Kapiolani Community College at the foot of Daimond Head. Most of the vendors there are regulars, while there’s always a few new or occasional folks offering their goods on any given weekend.

Following are photos I took of just a few of the many wonderful made or grown-in-Hawaii food products offered from various vendors for sale on this particular Saturday morning. Enjoy.

Papayas are by far the most widely sold fruit at this market…

If there’s one thing I want this Christmas, it’s this…

Forget them canned or bagged Macadamia Nuts, these fresh-cracked slow-roasted Macs are as fresh and “snappy” as they get!…

Kate Wagner of StarPoint Cafe resources as much local and organic ingredients as possible, and many (but not all) of her pastries and other baked goods are sugar-free, using Agave as its sweetener, making them very popular with people who are diabetic or have other dietary restrictions. The following pastries and baked goods are from StarPoint Cafe.

Pineapple and Mandarin Orange Scones, Whole Grain Scones and Strawberry Scones…

Danish CinnamonRolls…

Truffle Brownies and  Carnival Bars….

Fruit Bars…

Hot Cross Buns…

Pecan Maple Cheesecake…

Chocolate and Red Velvet Cake…

Walnut Craisin Wholewheat Bread loaves…

Here Kate shows off a Cacao fruit pod from her family’s Cacao farm on the Big Island…

Now the fabulous Salmon Fried Rice from Ohana Seafood…

Salmon and Saba Fried Rice Bento Boxes…

North Shore Farms’ AMAZING Pesto Neapolitan Pizza…

North Shore Farms also makes the Mozzarella Cheese that goes on these jewels….

Next up is India Cafe…

Man, looking at that, I sure could go for a bowl of Indian Curry on Jasmin Rice right about now!

Grandma G’s…

What would an outdoor event in Hawaii be without Shave Ice!…

When dad handed this Rainbow Shave Ice to his daughter, her immediate reaction following the first bite was pure jubilation and she literally jumped with joy. Was sooo cute!…

Finally, a look once again at the (grilled) Kona Coast Abalone…

So what did I end up buying on this visit yesteday? Because you know, shopping at the KCC Farmers’ Market  is all about impulse, never premeditated. At least for me.

Well, as you may recall, I sampled the Grilled Kona Coast Abalone….

Those have now been added to my KCCFM must-eat list. That along with North Shore Farm’s Pesto Neapolitan Pizza is another thing I couldn’t leave without…

The fresh basil is limp only because I had it sitting in the package for over an hour. But it still TASTED AWESOME. I still say this is by far THE BEST PIZZA ON OAHU. Period.

Partially because of the wonderfully toasted and seasoned crust…

And of course that flavor-packed pesto, homemade, very creamy Mozzarella Cheese and those fruity-fresh and fragrant North Shore Farms Tomatoes, with the fresh basil rounding it all out…

Most pizza I can only eat 2 or maybe 3 slices at the most and I’ve had enough. Not this Pizza. I seriously think I could whack an entire pie of this stuff. Seriously, it’s that good.

My girlfriend loves Salmon, so I got her a Salmon Bento from New Wave Kitchen…

Finally, with all the fresh papayas being sold all over the place at the market there, I just had to come home with two of my own. So I picked the Non-GMO (Non-Genetically-Modified Organisms) Kahuku Papayas from Chinen Farms…

The woman running the Chinen Farms stand pointed out to me that the two papayas I chose were FEMALE. She explained that the way you can tell that is that “a female papaya is like a real woman (female): they can stand on their own (notice how it stands on its bottom end and doesn’t fall over), and that they require a lot of patience (to ripen), but they’re very much worth the wait (to eat).” I swear to God, that’s exactly what she told me! And I know exactly where she’s coming from. lol So we’ll give these two young ladies a few days and they’ll be ready.

I’ll sign off this post with a photo of a Hawaiian Monk Seal I caught napping on Diamond Head Beach yesterday morning…

To the tune of the nursery rhyme song “Rock-A-Bye Baby”…

“Rock-a-bye monk seal on a beach front. When the sand blows you sneeze and you grunt.
When the wave breaks, it rushes up and wets your hair. And all the people do is they stop and they stare.”

Well, doesn’t look like I’ll be making a living writing nursery rhymes for sea mammals anytime soon. lol

15 thoughts on “Another Great Saturday at KCC Farmers' Market

  1. tony, no worries, he or she’s not DEAD, just resting. You can often find Hawaiian Monk Seals on beaches around our islands resting and sleeping. They can spend hours at a time on the beach just laying in one spot catching some zzzzz’s. Sometimes if you’re not really paying attention to where you’re walking, you could actually bump right into one thinking it’s just a big black rock in the sand. It almost happened to me once. NOAA’s Marine Fisheries Service Hawaiian Monk Seal signs had already been posted around this seal at the time I took that photo (zoomed-in from beyond the sign).

  2. All that food looks so ono!

    I totally believe that the papaya lady said that. I have a friend who grows papayas on the North Shore and she was telling me about female v. male fruits. Stores all want the male fruits which are longer and larger, but have more seeds. So, if you are paying by weight, you pay more for less fruit with the male papayas — which are usually the only ones available since that’s what the stores stock. There’s probably a story in there about papaya sexism and male dominated produce! 😉

  3. Pomai, my co workers had friends from Asia visiting and he took them to see KCC Farmer Market. They loved it very much and thought it was like a food festival to them. I enjoyed the cooked food they got selling everywhere which I couldn’t find else where or time looking for it in their restaurants or stores. I always bring a shopping cart from home to pick up many things at KCC Farmer Market.

  4. Way to go at the KCC market. Glad to see people going to farmer’s markets instead of throwing their monies away at many megamarts.

    Have you thought of reminiscing about old restaurants in Hawaii that have since closed? Chunky’s, Bea’s, KC Drive-inn, to name a few….

  5. Tony, I thoroughly enjoy your articles on the KCC Open Market, as I am a vendor there. Some time ago you featured Pat’s Peanuts and the pictures you took were absolutely awesome. I wanted your permission to use them on my website that I’m working on. Keep up the good work! Pat

  6. I have yet to go to the KCC Farmer’s Market.

    I LOVE that pizza! Whenever I go to a Farmer’s Market or another event where North Shore Farms has a booth I always buy a slice of their pizza and some fried zucchini.

  7. Pat, just for the record my name is Pomai, not Tony, although I have had a guest blogger here in the past named Tony.
    Anyhow, sure, by all means you may use any photos you want. After all, they are pictures of YOU and YOUR onolicious boiled peanut products! There’s also a few more pics of your booth at the introductory KCC Farmers’ Market review here.
    Please let me know when your website goes live so we can exchange links!

    sagemom, I still have yet to try the fried green tomatoes (from a different booth). They do a killing there.

    QLF, those places are either before my time or out of my “area” at the time they were in their heyday. I hear Bea’s was on the corner of King Street and Kapiolani and Chunky’s was on King Street near the Old Stadium where First Hawaiian Bank is currently located. Is that correct?

    Raph’, surely the Farmers’ Markets in Cali’ has a very impressive assortment of locally grown produce. I’m willing to bet more so than ours.

    Kelike, I’m definitely gonna’ start bringing my own reusable “eco” bag (or two) on my next visit to the farmers’ market. Primarily for the strength and comfort of the handle while walking around with stuff in it.

    Kristin, what the Chinen Farms vendor was trying to explain is that only female Papaya trees bear (edible) fruit.

  8. oh yes there are lotsa farmer’s markets here, esp in our great state of California. there is one i frequent in SF that is just huge, with food vendors too hawking carnitas burritos, wood fired pizzas, and hand roasted coffees. however they’re not as pretty as yours in hawaii!!!! 🙂 my wife loves to shop at the farmer’s market, it’s def a throw back to when folks actually went to a market, rather than going to the local safeway’s to pick up stuff.

  9. Aloha Valerie,
    The KCC Farmers’ Market occurs every Saturday from 7:30-11:00am in the parking lot at Kapiolani Community College. KCC is just a short drive 5 minute from Waikiki. Ask your hotel concierge how to get there. It’s really easy to find, as it’s right at the foot of Daimond Head on Monsarrat avenue.
    I promise you’ll be amazed at the variety and quality of unique, locally made produce and other goods that are offered there. Don’t forget to try North Shore Farms Pesto Neapolitan Pizza and the Kona Coast Abalone. ONO stuff!
    Let us know what you thought of it after you get there.
    Mahalo, Pomai

  10. Pomai, My aunt and uncle in California like KuKui Sausage Co. Pineapple Sausages very and when go visit them I always pick up and other stuffs at the KCC Farmer Market for many things in one place to shop for.

  11. Im drooling so much right now I don’t know what to do with myself. I went to the KCC FM back in Sept and I had a blast sampling all the yummy foods! We bought a mango and papaya that were to die for too.
    I remember way long ago… like 7 years ago? My friend took my to a way more local feeling farmers market somewhere on McCully street. The food there was amazing and dirt cheap. I wonder if its still around?

Leave a Reply

