The Tasty Island Receives Sunshine Award

I want to send out a big mahalo to reader and fellow blogger Kat, who so kindly graced The Tasty Island with the Sunshine Award!

Kat says, “It’s taken me awhile to post this, but I received this Sunshine award from a reader, Moni. (Thank you!)

According to her blog, “The Sunshine Award is awarded to bloggers whose positivity and creativity inspire others in the blogging world.” The rules once this award is received are as follows:

1. Post the logo on blog.
2. Pass the award on to 12 fellow bloggers.
3. Link the nominees
4. Let nominees know they have won this award by commenting on their blog.
5. Share the love and link to the person you received this award from.

With all this talk of snow and bad stuff going on in the world, I want to pass some “sunshine” on to the following bloggers:

1. Deb of Kahakai Kitchen
2. Rowena of Rubber Slippers in Italy
3. Barbara of Winos and Foodies
4. Kirk of Mmm-yoso
5. Martin of Kurashi
6. Mari of Biancorosso
7. Jalna of Photos by Jalna
8. Tamakikat of Ko Tamakikat Ahau
9. Dennis of Radiused Corner
10. Pomai of Tasty Island
11. Paz of Cooking adventures of Chef Paz
12. Deb of Deb & Her camera

Of course there are many, many more blogs on my blogroll that fit these requirements, so if I didn’t name you, please link back to this post and accept this award.

Thank you for bringing some “sunshine” to my life with your posts and comments and thanks again Moni for the award!”

Once again, domo arigato gozaimasu Kat-san! Right back at ya’! 🙂

In light of that, I have my own list of fellow bloggers I’d like to hand an award to. I don’t leave comments as much as I should, but I do frequent the following sites on a regular basis (which is why they’re on my links page). I’ll make it a point to comment more in the future!

With that, I’ve created my own award called, yep, you guessed it, the SPAM Musubi Award!…

Doesn’t that look spiffy? lol  Actually I kinda’ dig it!

Therefore, I hereby bestow upon the following Hawaii-based food bloggers the SPAM Musubi Award for their dedication (frequency of new posts), sharing spirit, creativity, knowledge, humor, writing skills, choice of subject matter and/or photography:

• Reid of Ono Kine Grindz (he’s been slowing down lately, but the “Pioneer of Hawaii Food Blogs” is still around!)
• Nate the Hwn Pake in Okinawa (now living back home in Kaimuki)
• Marvo of  The Impulsive Buy (Marvo reviews more than food, but food is obviously his favorite subject)
• Stanley of Aku Eats (look out for his blog-turned-published book, ‘Island Flavors’!)
• Justin of Goo Grindz (he’s been dormant lately, but for a relatively new blog, has some great material already built-up in  his archives)
• All the gang at WOW Grinds.com
• James of Big Island Grinds
• Sonia of Sonia Tastes Hawaii
• Larry of Free Range Gourmet
• Gail of Hawaii Diner.com

Also to most of the users on Yelp.com for their excellent reviews. Plenty of useful information and often HILARIOUS commentary on there!

Changing the rules of the Sunshine Award, there’s no need to pass the SPAM Musubi Award on or take any further action. I’m just pointing these sites out as my personal favorites. Otherwise, consider them all recipients of the Sunshine Award!

Sun Nin Fai Lok and Gung Hei Fat Choi!

15 thoughts on “The Tasty Island Receives Sunshine Award

  1. To celebrate the SPAM Musubi Award, I went to 7-Eleven and picked up a SPAM Musubi. Did you know they’re now $1.39? I swear they were $1.09 just a few months ago. How come the SPAM musubi prices go up but the 7-Eleven teri chicken and fried chicken bentos now have more rice, but cost the same? Arrgh.

    Sorry about the rant.

    Thank you for honoring The Impulsive Buy with a SPAM Musubi Award.

  2. Nate, do’o itashimashite.
    Marvo, I have yet to try 7-Eleven’s Manapua, which always perplexed me by their uncanny tinted color and piped-out shape. Scary-lookin’ if you ask me!
    Perhaps some day when I have enough courage, I’ll blog the stuff.
    Raph, ditto!
    Kat, glad you enjoyed the post. I was afraid you’d be offended that I didn’t stick by the ‘Sunshine Award’ rules. Whew!
     

  3. Thanks so much for the Spam Award, Pomai. Coming from a seasoned blogger like you, that means a lot!

    Sorry for the hiatus. I’m putting up some new stuff for Chinese New Year.

  4. tasty island is the best!
    mmm yoso is not “positive” and “kirk” only reiews asian rests. clearly this is some kind of inside, “asian only” award. not like

  5. omedetoo gozai masu! The award is well deserved. The Tasty Island is well written, honest, not pretentious (which is all too common when it comes to food blogs) and for me not being a local – educational. I like the overall variety of the places reviewed and the “Shoot Outs.” The Great Portuguese Sausage Shoot Out was great! Thanks for all your hard work.

  6. Pomai, congratulations on your award! Definitely very well-deserved!

    My hats off to all bloggers. It takes a lot of time, effort and heart to maintain a blog and share it with the rest of the world. Thank you.

  7. Congratulations Pomai for a well deserved award for a well written food blog. The best that I have ever come across and one that nevers fails to amaze, entice, and definitely please the mental palate. Kudos to you and your efforts. All the best Pomai. Mahalo plenty!

  8. Everyone, big mahalo for the kind thoughts. Really appreciate it! 🙂
    Kirk, your frequency of posts on your blog amazes me. I wish I had that kinda’ time. Work’s been so hectic lately, sometimes I come home and don’t even wanna’ think about writing. You’ve proven San Diego is a great place to live for bloggers such as yourself. Keep up the awesome work!
    Milo, although it does take a considerable amount of energy, “shootouts” are one of favorite “specialty posts”.  The energy WOWGrinds.com puts into their blind taste tests never fail to amaze me.
    Rowena, consider it yours to keep. An island girl living in Italy and blogging about it? How can you top that?!!!
    Justin, hey, glad to see you’ve “come back” with a new (Chinese New Year) post! I’ll read the entire write-up later today. Right now, gotta’ run.
     
     
     
     
     
     
     

  9. Pomai, or should I say Mr. Aloha? You are the Man! Your site keeps getting more and more interesting! As for the rest of us here in da islands? We can only aspire!!!

Leave a Reply

